Minnesota Journalism Award Winners Announced

SAVE Announces Winners of the Minnesota Journalism Award

SAVE announces top awards for the Journalism Award Program for Excellence in Reporting on Suicide in the state of Minnesota. The top two winners for mental health and suicide were selected from more than a dozen submissions received from around the state covering print, radio, and television media. Judges from around the world reviewed and scored the submissions.

The winning entry for suicide specifically was Don’t Believe Everything You Think: Talking About Suicide –“…died of depression and suicide” by Lisa Johnson. The winning entry for mental health was Chis Egert’s featured story on Meteorologist Ken Barlow. “We want to congratulate the winners,” said Dr. Dan Reidenberg, Executive Director of SAVE. “The opportunity to recognize excellence in journalism around these topics helps reduce the stigma and these stories help promote people getting help.”  An additional and unique award for Excellence in Ethics in Journalism was also announced by SAVE.  After consultation with other experts Lorna Benson of MPR received the first ever Excellence in Ethics in Journalism Award  for her willingness to not publish an in-depth story on suicide that could have increased the risk of suicide contagion and led to additional lives lost.

SAVE’s Journalism in Excellence Award portal will open again in December and submissions will be accepted through July 15, 2017. To find our more information, visit www.save.org.