awards and recognition

SAVE is proud to have received awards for our work in suicide prevention. Scroll down to learn more about our achievements.


2000 Distinguished Service Award, American Psychiatric Association

The Distinguished Service Award, established in 1964, honors an individual or organization of exceptional meritorious service to the field of psychiatry.


2003 Non-profit Agency of the Year Award, KARE-11

SAVE was nominated and selected by the KARE 11 Board of Governors as their Nonprofit Agency of the Year in 2003.  Agencies selected represent the highest community and ethical standards for nonprofit agencies that are focused on serving members of the Twin Cities community.


2007 August Good Neighbor Award, WCCO Radio presented to SAVE Volunteers

SAVE volunteers were nominated for their dedication and service to preventing suicide through public awareness events held throughout the community.

Who's Who Award

2008 Who’s Who of Prevention Leaders

Dr. Dan Reidenberg, Executive Director of SAVE, received the 2008 Who’s Who of Prevention Leaders in Florida Award at the Annual Florida Suicide Prevention Conference. Also pictured are Erin MacInnes, Director of the Office of Suicide Prevention in Florida and Col. William James director of the Office of Drug Control in Florida.

Communicator Award

2010 Communicator Award of Excellence

SAVE and our graphic design partner Looksmith Design received the 2010 Communicator Award of Excellence for their teen suicide prevention campaign What a Friend Sees. The poster created for the campaign was recognized in the Print Advertising – Poster and Public Service/Pro Bono categories. The Communicator Awards is the leading international creative awards program honoring creative excellence for communication professionals. The Communicator Awards is an annual competition honoring the best in advertising, corporate communications, public relations and identity work for print, video, interactive and audio. The Communicator Awards are judged and overseen by the International Academy of the Visual Arts (IAVA).

Dan and Joe Champions White House

Dan and Joe- Champions of Change, White House

2011 Champions of Change

SAVE was honored at the White House as “Champions of Change” in 2011 for its work in the area of suicide prevention. SAVE Executive Director Dr. Dan Reidenberg and Board President Joe Stackhouse accepted the honor on SAVE’s behalf.  The White House Champions of Change program highlights U.S. groups, businesses, organizations, and individuals who are helping the country rise to the challenges of the 21st century. In selecting SAVE as a Champions of Change, the administration described it as an organization “empowering and inspiring others in their communities” and cited “the work and passion of your organization in the area of suicide prevention as an outstanding example of President Obama’s vision to out-innovate, out-educate and out-build the rest of the world.”


2014 Prism Award 

The PRISM Awards is a nationally-televised awards show recognizing the accurate depiction of drug, alcohol and tobacco use and addiction in film, television, interactive, music, DVD, and comic book entertainment.


2015 Telly Award for Adult Male PSA Campaign

Founded in 1979, the Telly Awards is the premier award honoring outstanding local, regional, and cable TV commercials and programs, as well as the finest video and film productions, and web commercials, videos and films. The Telly Awards annually showcases the best work of the most respected advertising agencies, production companies, television stations, cable operators, and corporate video departments in the world. The Telly Awards is a widely known and highly respected national and international competition and received over 12,000 entries from all 50 states and 5 continents.


Letter of Support From Congressman Jim Ramstad

Congressman Jim Ramstad was a nine term Congressman from Minnesota’s 3rd district and a champion of mental health legislation in the House of Representatives and has been a long time supporter of SAVE. Representative Ramstad left Congress at the conclusion of his term in 2008 and shared his thoughts on SAVE, mental health legislation and issues regarding suicide prevention in a letter to SAVE and our supporters.

Congressman Ramstad Letter


Letter of Support From Senator Amy Klobuchar

Senator Amy Klobuchar is the senior United States Senator from Minnesota and the first woman elected to the Senate from Minnesota.  As a co-sponsor of the bipartisan Mental Health Parity Act of 2007, she has worked with her colleagues to put an end to unjust discrimination against people with mental health care needs.

Senator Klobuchar Letter


A Proclamation from the Mayor of Minneapolis

In honor of SAVE’s 20th Anniversary, a proclamation from the Mayor of Minneapolis, R.T. Rybak, officially recognized Friday, May 1st, 2009 as SAVE Day. The proclamation was read at SAVE’s 20th Anniversary event that evening.

Mayor’s Proclamation